I’m Not Just Chewing Staples | Braces

Good Evening Munchkins! Again, sorry for the late (in time and day) upload, but there are certain things like school work that just can’t go undone. Quick little thing, do you prefer my titles like this? Literally as I was writing the title I thought, might as well make it a bit different because ‘Braces’ on it’s own looked a bit boring, really. I will try to make it a thing, but as a natural blonde I might be a bit blonde and don’t want to spend my whole evening just thinking of a title.

Basically, I’m here to talk about braces because it’s been 2 years since I had mine put on and there has been so much progress. I’m so pleased but I just wanted to give you some pointers and pro’s and con’s as I know a lot of teenager’s have them and before I had mine on I was in a major panic talking to anyone I could about them who’d had experience and yeah. I would’ve wanted this blog post basically so I hope you do to.

Bit of background information – I sucked my thumb since I was at least 18 months old I think it was and only stopped when I was 11. Actually stopped the week before I had my brace on. So you can imagine how bad my teeth actually were. Over the past 2 years the main brace has straightened my teeth and teeth have come down and they are looking so much better and because I had that psychological thought of ‘I need to make my teeth better’ my teeth are so much cleaner and whiter. Not Simon Cowell white, but as good as you’d expect from a 13 year old. And of course you need to keep your teeth clean at all times but it’s just that you think it should be better because you have the brace on. If you understand that, well done! On Tuesday I had elastic bands put on for my overbite and I’m so excited to see the end result because I think that’s the last part of it. Correct me if I’m wrong, but that’s what I think. And just to clarify, I have top and bottom braces.

Pro’s:

Perfect Straight Teeth at the End – For some (like myself) it is a long road but I’m so looking forward to the end result and that’s the main point of it.

Better Cleaning – This probably is just me, but I (as I said before) cleaned them so much better and they are so much whiter and it makes me so happy that I now have at least decent teeth!

Softer Foods – I had to have some teeth out as well so my teeth were aching for a good few months and I live on pasta anyway but I had ice cream, macaroni cheese, all of it. It was so nice. Trust me to include food!

Con’s:

The Pain – If you are like me and hate pain, every 10 weeks is a hell-like experience. If you’re just getting the wire changed, it’s fine but when you have the brace put on or bands. Oh my God. I know I should be encouraging you to go for it and you should but I’m not going to lie to you. It hurts. But only for a few days normally, so just eat at one side of your mouth and usually at the back and it’s fine.

Staining – Before I went this week I had these brown stains on my teeth and it made me think twice about smiling (I’m a teeth smiler!) but I got it cleaned off and even my orthodontist didn’t know what it was so they worried me a bit. But don’t worry, they know what they’re doing.

Changing of the Bands – Thought I’d do another play on words, like Changing of the Guards at Buckingham Palace (sorry). Earlier one of my bands snapped and it’s just annoying. You’ve got to take your bands out when you brush your teeth and eat but I want them in as much as possible so they get better quicker and just, no. It’s so boring after a while and I was in a restaurant and I was pulling my mouth at all angles. Once you’ve got the hang of it, it’s fine. It’s just the practicality of it.

Tips

Wax – The first time you have your brace put on they should give you some wax and that’s to put at the end of the wires so it doesn’t dig into your cheeks as much and I really recommend this because although I don’t use it now, it was really helpful in the beginning.

Colours – In the UK you can get colours of your bands which hold the wire to the bracket (I’m not sure about other countries, sorry) and you get given a choice. In the beginning I had purple but now I have pink. Both fade pretty quickly but purple fades so you can hardly see it anymore so I’d recommend pink out of those two. I wouldn’t get yellow or white because it could show how yellow your teeth actually are and I wouldn’t get a really harsh colour like black because from a distant that could just look weird. Sorry if you have those colours, but those are my initial thoughts.

Pain is Good – I’ve mentioned the pain before and the only way I got through it (it sounds like something major, it really wasn’t) was by thinking that if it hurts, it means the teeth are moving and that’s good. Just bear that in mind!

I hope I have helped you at least a little bit with your braces and queries about them. My email address is below if you want to ask any questions in private (well, more private) or you can ask questions in the comments and I will be more than happy to answer them and I will get back to you as soon as I can. I will also leave a link below to my cousin Tyler’s video on this (TylerTalksTooMuch) so you can go check that out for any further information. For some reason, that has the most views. Wouldn’t have thought that! But yeah, go check him out!

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

****************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

Last Blog: https://rachelkate01.wordpress.com/2014/09/21/new-look-and-asos-haul/

Tyler’s Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNLxxaCEZmw&list=UU-fy-rNkxyYL-EoicVsFwFQ

One thought on “I’m Not Just Chewing Staples | Braces”

Leave a Reply

