Keeping a Smile On My Face

Good Afternoon Munchkins. Just as I turned my netbook on to write this blog post the sun has come out, typical! Still, I will power through (name that British sitcom) and keep you happy with a new blog post.

Keeping a Smile On My Face is something that over the past few months have got easier since I got better (last year I became depressed) and I love smiling, especially during these Summer months because as cheesy as it is there’s so much to smile about. I live by the sea so if I’m ever upset or a bit stressed I can take a 5 minute walk to the seafront and look over the sea. I do not, however, recommend this on a stormy day, that could have the opposite effect! This is pretty much my so-called ‘Happy Place’ as it were.

I know from experience that it’s easy to smile after crying even though the smiles mean nothing. If you just stop thinking about the negatives and start thinking about the positives than life does become a whole lot easier. For example, if you’re continuously arguing with your parents, at least be thankful they’re here or if your boyfriend broke up with you at least you have a group of supportive friends and family around you. Obviously if there is no positive substitution then there are things like Childline or Samaritans that will help you. When I was depressed I was thinking things like ‘Oh, you’re so ungrateful, you have perfect life compared to others, you have an amazing family and a great group of friends’ and that only made me worse because I felt bad. Please don’t feel like that, it will only bring you down more!

I know what you’re all going to be thinking ‘Oh, you’re only 13, how can you know all this? Why should I take advice from you?’. I don’t want to make you feel like you should listen to me but just that I am here for you as I am with anyone who is in need of help. I’m just sharing my experiences to show that you are in no way at all alone. At school when it was me doing all this it was somehow seen as ‘cool’ to self-harm and I actually know people who did it for popularity which I find completely sick as many of you probably think so it was either seen as nothing or for popularity which of course it wasn’t.

I didn’t get counselling or anything like that I just got out of the habit of crying myself to sleep and stuff like that and to get my mind off it I would do things I enjoyed so much more. For example you could try these:

– Reading

– Writing

– Acting

– Girls nights in/out (age permitting, obviously)

– Listening to positive music

– Excercise

– Weekend job

– Joining a club

– Start a blog (no hint or anything!)

I could go on for ages of ways to get your mind off it.

For me I just went on holiday with my parents and a friend and I couldn’t do anything to myself then so that’s how I got out the habit. I think the last time I cried myself to sleep from depression was the start of October last year which doesn’t feel that long ago but is still 9 months. I still get the occasional crying-due-to-hormones like most people but it’s just got so much better. Can I just say, we didn’t go on holiday because I was depressed it just happened to take my mind off matters. Also, I stopped listening to sad songs and decided to go for more upbeat ones and watched more Comedy (thank God for Comedy Central!).

My Summer Holidays start on Wednesday and I’m so looking forward to spending time with friends and family and going on holiday and just spending some well-needed me time. This time last year I would’ve dreaded being alone of fear of what I would do to myself but I’m so much happier. I’m also wearing shorts, dresses and skirts which were non-existent in my wardrobe, I just want the storms to go away!

I just thought I would quickly mention that Shout magazine are in the middle of their Project Smile (I think that’s what it’s called) and for the past few and upcoming months they’ve included tips and tricks on how to stay positive. I find this so fun to do because it actually gives me more ideas of how to spend the 6 weeks of lazy days. That’s only in the UK so I’m not sure if they do it worldwide or not. Sorry if it’s not.

Also, (this is going to sound mental after this whole blog post) this week I had my first proper/biggest panic attack so sorry if this is not up to standard but I’m still a bit shakey. It was because of Sports Day and then I thought people were judging me and I could hardly speak to the lady serving me in Subway today because of my lack of confidence. I will get better though, I should be fine come Monday or whatever.

As I say, sorry if this isn’t the best of blog posts and I will redo it if you want me to, but I thought it’s Saturday, the sun wasn’t out, got nothing to do, might as well upload!

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

**************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

My Last Blog: Be The Change You Wish To See In The World

 

 

One thought on “Keeping a Smile On My Face”

Leave a Reply

