Be The Change You Wish To See In The World

be the change you wish to see in the world

 

Good Morning Munchkins! My early Sunday blog, so good Sunday to all that use the internet on this day! That went strange, but the reason it is early is because I’m writing it the night before, because as we all know, I’m not prepared!

I was inspired to do this sort of blog by Louise of Sprinkle of Glitter who does ‘Motivational Mondays’ and I will just do these occasionally and not necessarily on a Monday, so that’s why the quote is the title today. If you have any other suggestions do let me know!

I might just be a soppy teenager who loves these sorts of quotes but I do love them with a passion, especially this one.

I’m one of those people that live by the phrase ‘YOLO’ (You Only Live Once) but I try to do it in a way where I’m not taking drugs, jumping off cliffs etc. I really want to make a change to the world and I try to do a lot for charity so this one is really personal for me.

In August I am doing a 14 mile walk for a little boy with this kind of Cerebal Pulsey which I can’t remember the name of but where the connection between his brain and muscles doesn’t work. He goes to my Mum’s nursery to obviously that’s how I heard about it and she’s going to do it also. I’m also getting some of my friends involved because I really feel it’s important to get everyone involved, not matter the length you have to go to.

Also, at school when we have Children In Need days, Comic Relief, Sport Relief etc. I will get involved because you should not waste these opportunities. Since the age of 7 I have also adopted this Dolphin called Rainbow who lives in the Scottish sea and one day I would love to go see her.

You may not be surprised to hear this but I would love to be heavily involved massive charities like Cancer Research UK or something like that. My Mum when I was younger used to do Race for Life and things like that and we used to go and support her and stuff and she’s doing it again this year after coming out of what she calls a ‘Hectic Retirement’. She’s 41 so it’s different that your mid-30’s, but still, I believe she can do it. She’s been training for ages.

There are so many teenagers and young people these days just sitting watching TV all day doing nothing. If you haven’t got a job, go get one. If you want to do something to change the world, do it. Like Tesco, ‘Every Little Helps’. Sorry for that, but it’s so true.

Because of people donating to Cancer Research, in the UK they are offering for Year 8 girls to have Cervical Cancer Jabs, which I had late last year and early this year, so I’m now immune.

The Dolphin/Whale charity I support has got Richard Branson to stop putting SeaLife Centre in Florida as part of their Virgin Holiday Package Deals (by petition, not just telling him!).  I’m not entirely proud of it but I went there as a package deal and as cool as it was to see all the animals, I could’ve seen happier Dolphins and Whales with an hour flight to Scotland rather than an 8 hour flight to Orlando.

The little boy I’m walking 14 miles for is raising money for a sensory room which costs £13,000 and he’s getting closer to that target as you read this now.

These are just 3 things I’m aware of out of the 3 charities I would like/do support.

If you would like me to write anymore about any of these charities then do let me know and I will when I can.

I hope this has inspired you to do things to help change the world or at least get that little bit closer. I cannot stress enough; I don’t care if it’s stupid or nerdy but I want to give all I can to charity and help it in any way that is physically possible. If I won the million pound lottery, I’d spend a grand or two on me and my family and the rest on different charities which sounds cheesy, but I don’t care.

Write in the comments below if you support any charities or what charity events you have done in the past because I’d love to learn about different ones all around the world.

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

**************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

My Last Blog: Starting a Diary

Cancer Research UK

WDC

I will not include the little boy’s page URL as I haven’t told him or his family about mentioning him so I wouldn’t want to upset them if they suddenly saw this and got annoyed. Also, there might be certain security things they might not want to deal with, so I’m sorry if that has affected you in some way.

 

One thought on “Be The Change You Wish To See In The World”

Leave a Reply

