How Anne Frank’s Diary Affects Teenagers in 2014

DISCLAIMER: THIS IS PURELY MY OPINION AND YOU ARE ENTITLED TO YOUR OWN. I IN NO WAY WANT TO MAKE YOUR DECISIONS FOR YOU, SO PLEASE BEAR THAT IN MIND WHEN YOU ARE READING THIS BLOG. I DON’T MEAN TO OFFEND ANYONE, THIS IS JUST MY POINT OF VIEW AND I WOULD NEVER HURT ANYONE INTENTIONALLY.

Good Morning, Munchkins. It’s been a while but last Sunday was my Grandad’s birthday and yesterday I was helping my Nan out. 

Today’s blog is completely different and wasn’t something I was expecting to do until literally last night. Basically for the past few days (don’t much about, me) I have been reading Anne Frank: Diary of a Young Girl. I know it’s sad, people warned me beforehand but as Alice said ‘curiouser and curiouser’. Maybe not the right context for it to be used in, but you know. I really wanted to read it because we were doing the Holocaust at school and I’d just read Boy in Striped Pyjamas and watched Schindler’s List (don’t worry, I had parents permission) so I thought, why not? I finished it yesterday which is why I’m speaking about it now, so I do know what I’m talking about!

Despite Schindler’s List being one of the most detailed films about war I’ve ever watched, I actually found Anne Frank the most heartbreaking probably due to the fact she was my age when she got the diary so it was kind of like talking to a friend if you get rid of the facts that she was in hiding as she was a Jew the Nazi’s wanted to take to a Concentration Camp. It really reminded me of when I started puberty all those years ago and how I just clashed with my parents and just became a completely different person. Sorry for those reading it but the last line (‘. . . if only there weren’t so many people in the world’) was written 3 days before they got arrested and it was such a teenager-y thing to write and the way she never really got on with her mother must have been such a hard thing to know when you know you’re going to die. I sound so morbid today but trust me, I’m not trying to make you cry!

I really felt I could relate to her because she kept updates on the war and who was invading who but it wasn’t the main parts of the diary and it really does prove that teenagers have always been the same and nothing will change that. She spoke a lot about puberty and sex and stuff like that and all her fears and worries about it which back then was unheard of because you didn’t speak about things like that but nowadays you just talk about it all constantly. 

Her dad was the only one left after the war out of the 8 people that lived there so he found the diary and I don’t keep a diary but the types of things she wrote made me wonder what her dad actually thought because I wouldn’t want my dad reading through my things like that. She was very close to her dad, so that might be why but I would hate it if that happened to me. I hate myself for saying that because of it sounds like everything she went through I’m saying it as the worst part which I’m not. I do feel like if I knew Anne I would be friends with her because she seems like such a kind, caring but funny person and it sounds really weird but it’s true. 

The only thing that’s stopping me from becoming really depressed that she died only a few weeks before the war ended is because maybe if she was still alive to publish it, it wouldn’t have gone down as well or got the recognition it deserves. Also, she re-wrote parts of it once she heard that diaries and letters would be published after the war so maybe she would’ve re-written bits that make it so relatable to people like myself. I’m a huge believer of things happen for a reason and even though she never deserved to have been put in that situation that is the way her path was made. 

There are so many things I haven’t touched on but I don’t want people to get bored of me just rambling on. If you haven’t read it, please do because even if you’re not interested in that period of time, just read it to get to know the person behind all this success. I will definitely be re-reading her diary over and over until the day I die, she is one of the people who I would like to be like when I’m older, living by making the most out of what you’ve got, making the best out of a bad situation etc.

Thank you for reading and let me know if you like this sort of thing, it’s very different, I know but I really wanted to speak about it, 

Rachel xx

**************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

Last Blog: https://rachelkate01.wordpress.com/2014/06/21/gala-day-14-and-the-importance-of-sun-cream/

2 thoughts on “How Anne Frank’s Diary Affects Teenagers in 2014”

Leave a Reply

