How to Wear High Heels

Good afternoon, Munchkins! Today’s blog as you can probably tell is going to be quite a girly one, so sorry about that if it doesn’t really affect you in any way.

I got my first pair of high heels when I was about 7 or 8 but they were like an inch or two and I loved them so much. They were Bratz, pink and glittery, every girls dream really. I eventually grew out of them after realising at a slightly awkward wedding where I ended up walking around bare foot. The next time I got high heels was when I was 11 for Christmas and they’re black boots with zips from New Look. I still wear them and will always be my first choice. I have another pair that are like cream sandal type but I don’t wear them so much, from Shoe Zone. 

Obviously for some that will seem really early and for other’s really late, but everyone will get their pair of heels one day. This is kind of like a step by step guide of how to wear them and the key points to wearing them. 

Step 1 – It’s going to hurt

Like any new pair of shoes you’re going to break in, it’s going to get time for your feet to get used to it. Clearly your feet aren’t designed to be lifted in that sort of way and it’s not humanly natural. Believe me, it’ll take time to get used to standing on the balls of your feet but it will work. I got them Christmas 2012 and by March 2013 (my Nan’s funeral) I wore them from about 8 in the morning until 9 at night. 

Step 2 – Practice walking in them

As you can tell from the above step it needs practice like anything. Even just walking up and down your living room will do as long as your feet get used to it. You don’t really want to go on a night out them have to be carried home. I wouldn’t do it continuously in saying that because it could cause something to happen to the bones or muscles in your feet, but I reckon at least 2 hours a week for those who really want to get into it quickly. And also, don’t be surprised if you don’t wear them for a while then when you wear them for a long time it for it to hurt. It’s like if you do stretches, then stop, then try it again. It takes effort!

Step 3 – Start small and work your way up

The heels I have at the moment are both around 3 inches and my first ever pair were so small I didn’t really need any practice, but 6 inch high heels scare me. I’m 5 foot tall, so jumping 6 inches is like flying a plane for the first time, not going to go well! Hopefully in a few years I’ll build the confidence to slowly go up to 5 foot 6, but at the moment I’m not so sure!

Step 4 – Don’t jump too far if you’re not ready for it

This kind of links to step 3 again, just in the fact don’t feel like you have to wear heels. If you are already tall or just don’t feel like you’re ready then nobody’s saying you have to. There are always nice flats going around, and they’re always a lot cheaper! Also, if you’re short and young like me and want really nice high heels but they’re really high just try and find a cheaper copy somewhere else. If it’s a trend it’s going to be everywhere, let’s be honest. 

Step 5 – When you’re young only wear them for special occasions

This is in no way an order like anything else, just purely a piece of advice. I’m 13 and have been wearing high heels since I was 11 and only wear them for special events. If you are in your 20’s then go for it, wear them everyday if you want to. I just think that my feet are still growing and I have small feet anyway and they probably won’t get much bigger, but they might do something to the bones or muscles or something and I want nice feet when I’m old. The ability to walk is something I’ll always want, thank you!

If you have any worries or questions about this topic then write it in the comments below and I’ll be sure to get to it and answer as soon as I can and as best as I can. If you have any other worries or suggestions and don’t particularly want to share them, then please email me (links are below). 

Also, I just want to explain some stuff quickly. This week is Half-Term (que mini celebration) so I have a week off, but from Thursday to Sunday of next week I will be on holiday. As you know, when I’m on a school holiday I try to upload everyday for you, but I will only be able to upload Monday-Wednesday which annoys me. Of course, I will take my netbook and might to ‘Vlogs in a Blog’ (see what I did there) on Word then upload them during the week, but we’ll see. 

Lastly, my lovely cousin Tyler has started a YouTube account and it would be really great if you could check him out. Of course, the links are below, but if you’re as un-technical as I am, his username is TylerTalksTooMuch (now you know how we’re related!). He started doing videos on Tuesday and plans to upload everyday. Please give him loads of support as I know you do with me. Obviously, after this I will let him know I have said this, but he’s a young YouTuber and he would love to get really big because he loves doing it.

I think that’s everything I had to say, so I’ll see you soon and thank you for reading, 

Rachel xx

**********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

Last Blog: https://rachelkate01.wordpress.com/2014/05/18/self-harm/

What To Wear on a Date: https://rachelkate01.wordpress.com/2014/05/17/what-to-wear-on-a-date/

TylerTalksTooMuch: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-fy-rNkxyYL-EoicVsFwFQ

New Look High Heels: http://www.newlook.com/shop/shoe-gallery/view-all-shoes/high-heel/_/N-9pzZ1z141xp

Boohoo High Heels: http://www.boohoo.com/restofworld/footwear/high-heels/icat/highheels

3 thoughts on “How to Wear High Heels”

  1. Some great information. I will speak further on your assessment of younger people wearing heels; as you mentioned keep it to a minimum. You are correct as your feet are still developing and you do not want to cause any abnormal growth. 😉

    1. Ok, that’s great. I’m glad I’ve got all the information correct! My friends has something wrong with her bones and her heels really don’t really help, so that’s kind of how I know 🙂

Leave a Reply

